New Zealand given 2020 World Series Sevens men and women’s titles

New Zealand have been given the 2020 World Series Sevens title, with four legs of the tournament still to play.

Rugby 2016/17 Hsbc Cape Town Sevens Day 2 Cape Town Stadium

New Zealand have been officially crowned champions in both the men and women’s World Series Sevens – following the cancellation of fixtures in Langford, London, Paris, Singapore and Hong Kong.

World Rugby said in a statement released on Tuesday that the decision to bring the 2020 World Series Sevens to an early end was made due to the “ongoing and dynamic global nature of the COVID-19 pandemic”.

World Rugby added:

The decision follows detailed and constructive dialogue with the host and participating unions, and has been taken with the health and wellbeing of the rugby community and the wider public as top priority, and in line with the relevant national government and public health authority advice.

New Zealand will be awarded both the women’s and men’s titles courtesy of being top of the standings before the pandemic interrupted the Series with five of the eight women’s rounds and six of the ten men’s rounds successfully completed.

The Black Ferns Sevens had topped the podium in four of the five rounds in the women’s Series so far, while the All Blacks Sevens had claimed three victories and five podium finishes in the six rounds completed in the men’s Series.

Olympic Champions Australia finish second in the women’s Series with Canada in third. In the men’s Series, the 2018 champions South Africa finish in second place with Olympic and 2019 Series champions Fiji in third. There will be no relegation from the women’s or men’s Series in 2020.

World Series 2020: Final standings (men’s)

[wpdatatable id=15 table_view=regular]