Springbok Showdown: Fixture kick off time and teams


Siya Kolisi will lead out his Springbok Green side as captain on Saturday, as they take on a Gold squad led by Lukhanyo Am in a showpiece clash at Cape Town’s Newlands Stadium.

South Africa’s national team supremos Rassie Erasmus and Jacques Nienaber made the draft picks last weekend alongside team coaches Mzwandile Stick and Deon Davids.

Bok captain Kolisi will be joined in the forwards by his fellow Rugby World Cup winners Bongi Mbonambi and Duane Vermeulen.

Ox Nche and Luan de Bruin complete the front row either side of Mbonambi, with JD Schickerling and Hyron Andrews playing in green at lock, while Arno Botha joins Kolisi and Vermeulen in the back row.

There’s youth and experience in the half-backs as Lions captain Elton Jantjies plays off Sharks wizkid Sanele Nohamba.

Frans Steyn and Wandisile Simelane combine in the centres, with Yaw Penxe and Malcolm Jaer on the wings and Gianni Lombard at full-back.

Am’s Gold side boast a heavy duty front row of Steven Kitshoff, Scarra Ntubeni and Ruan Dreyer.

Salmaan Moerat and Marvin Orie will lock in behind them, with Marco van Staden and Nizaam Carr on the flanks.

The forwards are completed by another ex-Stormer in Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who returns to Cape Town as eighth man.

Two more hometown heroes play at scrum-half and fly-half, in the form of young tyros Herschelle Jantjies and Damian Willemse.

Rikus Pretorius joins his captain in the centres, with Courtnall Skosan and Rosko Specman earning wing call-ups, with Warrick Gelant in the 15 jersey.

Springbok Showdown teams

Green team

Gianni Lombard, Yaw Penxe, Wandisile Simelane, Frans Steyn, Malcolm Jaer, Elton Jantjies, Sanele Nohamba, Duane Vermeulen, Arno Botha, Siya Kolisi (capt), Hyron Andrews, JD Schickerling, Luan de Bruin, Bongi Mbonambi, Ox Nche.Reserves:  Schalk Erasmus, Kwenzo Blose, Thomas du Toit, JJ van der Mescht, Juarno Augustus, Junior Pokomela, Embrose Papier, Manie Libbok, Jeremy Ward, Kade Wolhuter.

Gold team

Warrick Gelant, Rosko Specman, Lukhanyo Am, Rikus Pretorius, Courtnall Skosan, Damian Willemse, Herschel Jantjies, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Nizaam Carr, Marco van Staden, Marvin Orie, Salmaan Moerat, Ruan Dreyer, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.Reserves: Dylan Richardson, Dylan Smith, Carlu Sadie, Jason Jenkins, James Venter, Vincent Tshituka, Ivan van Zyl, Curwin Bosch, Werner Kok, Manuel Rass

Springboks showdown kick off time

The fixture will kick off on 3 October 2020 at 17:05 (SAST) at Newlands in Cape Town.

PS: If you came to this page by asking: “hey Google, what time does the Springbok Showdown kick off this weekend?” you might have to scroll up rather than your usual direction of down to read the rest of this article.

Scroll to Top